Physician Assistant: Books

Data for Nurses: Understanding and Using Data to Optimize Care Delivery in Hospitals and Health Systems provides information for nurses on how to work with data to effectively evaluate and improve care delivery for patients. Quality, benchmarking, and research data are increasingly used to guide care in hospitals and health systems, and nurses are expected to actively use this information to identify interventions to optimize outcomes and meet reporting and financial targets.

This guide provides a clear and concise overview of heart failure for primary care clinicians. Written by two nurse practitioners for nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, medical students, and pharmacists, it is uniquely designed to bridge the gap between cardiology and primary care. It delivers the most current recommendations outlined by the American Heart Association and the Heart Failure Society of America guidelines for the management and treatment of heart failure.  This book includes a comprehensive overview of heart failure with reduced ejection fraction and heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. Special chapters are dedicated to physical exam, interpretation and application of diagnostic testing, and the management of chronic illness in the setting of acute and chronic heart failure.  Additionally, the book provides clinicians with guidance on common medications to avoid, patient education, successful transitions of care, and conversations regarding goals of care. Each chapter includes an overview and learning objectives. The "Practice Pearls" and case studies found throughout the text highlight key takeaway points.  

This book covers the diagnostic reasoning process that providers must follow when assessing an actual case. The text outlines each step of the health assessment process and further demonstrates the link between health history and physical examination. It also provides the healthcare professional with the essential data needed to formulate a diagnosis and treatment plan.

Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors

Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3rd Edition. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence. Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman and Patrick J. Nelligan, along with nearly 200 critical-care experts, provide a comprehensive framework for translating evidence into practice, helping both residents and practitioners obtain the best possible outcomes for critically ill patients. Covers a full range of critical care challenges, from routine care to complicated and special situations. Helps you think through each question in a logical, efficient manner, using a practical, consistent approach to available management options and guidelines. Features revised and updated information based on current research, and includes all-new cases on key topics and controversies such as the use/overuse of antibiotics, drug resistance in the ICU, non-invasive mechanical ventilation, frequency of transfusions, and duration of renal replacement therapies. Provides numerous quick-reference tables that summarize the available literature and recommended clinical approaches. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Fully updated from cover to cover, incorporating over 200 new studies on the evidence-based approach to diagnosis, the 4th Edition of Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis remains your go-to resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis. Internationally renowned author Dr. Steven McGee puts the most current evidence at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly compare all physical signs for a given diagnosis, understand their significance, and then select the most accurate ones. Includes a unique evidence-based calculator online that enables you to easily determine probability using likelihood ratios. Features a reader-friendly outline format, including dozens of "EBM boxes" and accompanying "EBM ruler" illustrations. Provides new evidence on the scientific value of many physical findings, including Cheyne-Stokes respirations, subclavian stenosis, fever of unknown origin, porto-pulmonary hypertension, localization of stroke, and many more. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW two-color format improves readability and helps you find essential information faster. NEW Key Teaching Points at the beginning of every chapter, ideal for teachers of bedside medicine.

This book discusses System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) thoroughly, focusing on Mobile Healthcare Information Systems (M-HIS). Covering all aspect of M-HIS development, the book moves from modeling, assessment, and design phases towards prototype phase. Topics such as mobile healthcare information system requirements, model identification, user behavior, system analysis and design are all discussed. Additionally, it covers the construction, coding and testing of a new system, and encompasses a discussion on future directions of the field. Based on an existing mobile cardiac emergency system used as a real case throughout the chapters, and unifying and clarifying the various processes and concepts of SDLC for M-HIS, this book is a valuable source for medical informaticians, graduate students and several members of biomedical and medical fields interested in medical information systems. Presents a system development life cycle that can be used for developing different kinds of systems others than health related and also can be used for educational purposes Includes behavioral studies in the system development life cycle to assist in the design of systems with consideration of users' behavior, which is even more important for medical systems Uses a real mobile cardiac emergency system as an example for systems development

Physicians of all disciplines know (or quickly learn the hard way) that effective and compassionate communication is arguably the single most important determinant of patient satisfaction. For cataract surgeons, the words said before, after, and even during the operation are often more important to the patient's happiness than the objective quality of the surgical result. What I Say: Conversations that Improve the Physician-Patient Relationship is designed to help cataract surgeons to hone their verbal interactions to be as sharp as their surgical skills. Muddled, clumsy, or impromptu explanations diminish the doctor-patient relationship and could prevent patients from receiving the surgery they need or appreciating the results they get. Knowing in advance which words to use in difficult situations is analogous to knowing how to manage a complication before it occurs. The results are inevitably better when a physician has considered every possible outcome instead of attempting to come up with exactly the right solution on the spot. Rather than figure out the right words by trial and error, however, What I Say has recommendations on exactly what to say to build strong and trusting patient relationships.

Current, comprehensive, and focused, the bestselling Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine returns for its fourth edition.Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, this trusted, quick-reference guide includes the latest evidence-based guidelines and recommended management of medical emergencies alongside new figures and clinical tips from experienced authors and a team of dedicated specialist reviewers. With a newchapter on acute medicine and the older patient, and even more distilled key points and practice tips, it is accessible to all members of the multidisciplinary team and practitioners across an even wider range of specialties. The Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine remains the must-have resource forall those dealing with acute illness.Your practical guide to the presentation, causes, and management of the acutely ill patient, this Handbook will take you step-by-step through the management of the patient while awaiting specialist help, and beyond, with details of specialist treatments to help you make an informed decision aboutyour patients' ongoing care.

New emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules . all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases, 10th Edition, keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control. Includes important updates on malaria, leishmaniasis, tuberculosis and HIV, as well as coverage of Ebola, Zika virus, Chikungunya, and other emerging pathogens. Provides new vaccine schedules and information on implementation. Features five all-new chapters: Neglected Tropical Diseases: Public Health Control Programs and Mass Drug Administration; Health System and Health Care Delivery; Zika; Medical Entomology; and Vector Control - as well as 250 new images throughout. Presents the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each tropical disease, as well as the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and disease prevention techniques. Contains skills-based chapters such as dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and service-based chapters such as transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Discusses maladies such as delusional parasitosis that are often seen in returning travelers, including those making international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Completely revised and updated for 2020, the Physicians' Cancer Chemotherapy Drug Manual is an up-to-date guide to the latest information on standard therapy and recent advances in the field. Written by world-class experts in clinical cancer therapeutics, this essential reference provides a complete, easy-to-use catalogue of over 100 drugs and commonly used drug regimens--both on- and off-label--for the treatment of all the major cancers.Key Features:* Addition of 17 new agents, 2 biosimilars, and several new supplemental indications that have all been approved by the FDA within the past year* Updated new indications for previously approved agents* Indications, drug doses and schedules, toxicities, and special considerations for each agent expanded and revised* A specific chapter focused on antiemetic treatment regimens for both acute and delayed nausea/vomiting* Diagrams of drug structures and pathways for many of the agents* A comprehensive discussion of clinical pharmacology, special considerations, indications, and dosages* Covers toxicity and drug-drug interactions* A section on chemotherapy regimens for all major cancers* Provides an overview of the basic principles of cancer drug therapy

Now in a single, convenient volume, The Breast: Comprehensive Management of Benign and Malignant Diseases, 5th Edition covers every clinically relevant aspect of the field: cancer, congenital abnormalities, hormones, reconstruction, anatomy and physiology, benign breast disease, and more. Building upon the strengths of previous editions, this updated volume by Drs. Kirby I. Bland, Edward M. Copeland III, V. Suzanne Klimberg, and William J Gradishar, includes the latest innovations in breast cancer detection and treatment in a practical, easy-to-use format ideal for today's surgeons. Delivers step-by-step clinical guidance highlighted by superb illustrations that depict relevant anatomy and pathology, as well as medical and surgical procedures. Reflects the collaborative nature of diagnosis and treatment among radiologists, pathologists, surgeons, oncologists, and other health care professionals who contribute to the management of patients with breast disease. Offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on the diagnosis and management of, and rehabilitation following, surgery for benign and malignant diseases of the breast. Covers the latest developments in receptor modulation, targeted monoclonal antibodies, evolving inhibitors with triple-negative disease, and more. Discusses recent minimally invasive surgical techniques and new developments in oncoplastic breast conservation techniques. Contains significant updates to the "Management of Systemic Disease" section that reflect the latest advances in chemotherapy, hormonal resistance, and therapy.

Physician engagement in a hospital or health system can be powerful. It can drive culture change; it can knock down operational, financial, and strategic challenges; and it can lead to better outcomes. But in many organizations, physicians are demoralized and disengaged. Why do physicians in one hospital demonstrate ownership in improving their organization's performance while those in another hospital show no personal commitment to organizational success? This book guides leaders in creating environments where executives and physicians jointly work toward shared goals. Concise, accessible, and packed with real-world examples, An Insider's Guide to Physician Engagement presents a practical plan of action for healthcare executives and clinical leaders at all levels of the organization. Each chapter offers pearls of practical wisdom and shares inside tips to help leaders move from understanding to action. The author, drawing on more than two decades as a physician, health system CEO, and consultant, takes a seen-it-from-all-sides approach to topics that include the following: Busting the myths to change the culturePresenting data effectivelyLaunching cost-quality campaignsArticulating a clear visionLearning how physicians thinkEmpowering physician leadersMeasuring successPhysician engagement is both an art and a science. By uniquely addressing the challenge from the perspective of both executives and physicians, this book provides an inspiring, achievable plan for physician engagement that has been sorely lacking until now.

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of this popular point-of-care manual offers practical, authoritative guidance from the American Academy of Pediatrics in the hospital setting for safe, effective inpatient care from initial evaluation through hospital discharge management. Pediatric hospitalists with extensive hands-on expertise offer proven recommendations for dozens of pediatric inpatient problems including anaphylaxis; cardiac conditions; dermatological, ENT and GI issues; infectious diseases; seizure; eye trauma; fractures; physical and sexual abuse, and more.  New in the second edition: Provides 18 new chapters on eating disorders, acute adrenal insufficiency, hyperthyroidism, hypoglycemia, genetics, inborn errors of metabolism, ovarian torsion, neutropenia, cultural effectiveness, transition to adult care, sepsis, suicide, systemic lupus erythematosus, abdominal masses, and much more.

Up-to-date, authoritative and comprehensive, Heart Failure, 4th Edition, provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively manage and treat patients with this complex cardiovascular problem. This fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease helps you make the most of new drug therapies such as angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs), recently improved implantable devices, and innovative patient management strategies. Led by internationally recognized heart failure experts Dr. G. Michael Felker and Dr. Douglas Mann, this outstanding reference gives health care providers the knowledge to improve clinical outcomes in heart failure patients. Focuses on a clinical approach to treating heart failure, resulting from a broad variety of cardiovascular problems. Covers the most recent guidelines and protocols, including significant new updates to ACC, AHA, and HFSA guidelines. Covers key topics such as biomarkers and precision medicine in heart failure and new data on angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs). Contains four new chapters: Natriuretic Peptides in Heart Failure; Amyloidosis as a Cause of Heart Failure; HIV and Heart Failure; and Neuromodulation in Heart Failure. Covers the pathophysiological basis for the development and progression of heart failure. Serves as a definitive resource to prepare for the ABIM's Heart Failure board exam. 2016 British Medical Association Award: First Prize, Cardiology (3rd Edition). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Lubkin's Chronic Illness: Impact and Intervention, Tenth Edition is an essential text for teaching nursing students the impact of chronic Illness on both patients and families. This is the only text of its kinds that truly addresses not only the physical aspects of chronic illness but the important psychosocial issues that individuals and families encounter on a daily basis.The Tenth Edition takes an application to practice-based approach by covering impact and issues as well as interventions and outcomes. Each chapter employs a theoretical approach to the concept followed by an overview of the impact, nursing interventions and potential outcomes. To bring this content to life for students, the text takes a personalized approach featuring real-life stories and scenarios focused on the individual's experience with chronic illness.

The Oxford Handbook of Humanitarian Medicine is a practical guide covering all aspects of the provision of care in humanitarian situations and complex emergencies. It includes evidence-based clinical guidance, aimed specifically at resource limited situations, as well as essential non-clinical information relevant for people working in field operations and development. The handbook provides clear recommendations, from the experts, on the unique challenges faced by health providers in humanitarian settings including clinical presentations for which conventional medical training offers little preparation. It provides guidance for syndromic management approaches, and includes practical guidance on the integration of context specific mental health care. The handbook goes beyond the clinical domain, however, and also provides detailed information on the contextual issues involved in humanitarian operations, including health systems design, priorities in displacement, security and logistics. It outlines the underlying drivers at play in humanitarian settings, including economics, gender based inequities, and violence, guiding the reader through the epidemiological approaches in varied scenarios.

Since the publication of the first edition of Beyond Consent, issues of justice remain critical in discussions, debates, and policy making in biomedical research in involving human subjects. The second edition adds new content in two different ways, first by asking authors to examine theissues identified in the first edition by asking what has changed and what new issues arise in the contemporary environment, and second by adding chapters to take on issues that are salient today and looking forward. The result is a new treatment of the issues of justice in research through freshperspectives and by examining the latest issues. The editors have assembled a group of leading scholars and researchers as contributors, and author the final chapter themselves. This collection is a vital resource for students and scholars of bioethics, medicine, and public health policy; as well asfor members of institutional review boards (IRBs), research administrators, and policy makers.

Introductory Immunology: Basic Concepts for Interdisciplinary Applications, Second Edition is a completely updated, revised and expanded resource on the immune system as a primary defense for the maintenance of health and homeostasis. The book highlights the components of the human immune system and how they work together to confer protection against pathogenic invaders. It also creates an understanding of the basis for clinical tests and immune therapeutics and their importance in identifying and treating disease states. This updated edition will strengthen the foundation required to understand the placement of immune function within clinical practice, thus allowing a basic platform to define therapeutic treatments. Creates appreciation for the components of the human immune system that work together to confer lifelong protection Provides core knowledge in immunology to build a foundation to explore mechanisms involved in clinical disease Breaks down all immunology concepts into manageable, logically digestible building blocks Geared toward readers without medical, biochemical or cellular expertise Includes a glossary that provides functional definitions of complex terms

The Human Body: Linking Structure and Function provides knowledge on the human body's unique structure and how it works. Each chapter is designed to be easily understood, making the reading interesting and approachable. Organized by organ system, this succinct publication presents the functional relevance of developmental studies and integrates anatomical function with structure. Focuses on bodily functions and the human body's unique structure Offers insights into disease and disorders and their likely anatomical origin Explains how developmental lineage influences the integration of organ systems

The second edition of Comparative Anatomy and Histology is aimed at the new rodent investigator as well as medical and veterinary pathologists who need to expand their knowledge base into comparative anatomy and histology. It guides the reader through normal mouse and rat anatomy and histology using direct comparison to the human. The side by side comparison of mouse, rat, and human tissues highlight the unique biology of the rodents, which has great impact on the validation of rodent models of human disease.

A brief description introduces each body system. Crystal clear presentation makes the illustrations pop from the pages. Precise labels accurately identify every structure. Unique anatomical views--like the cross section of the hand--highlight every detail in full-color. Every page tells you the orientation of every figure--no more guessing at what you're viewing. Easy-to-reference tables summarize all of the relevant physiology.

This book provides two thousand multiple choice questions on human anatomy and physiology, separated into 40 categories. The answer to each question is accompanied by an explanation. Each category has an introduction to set the scene for the questions to come. However not all possible information is provided within these Introductions, so an Anatomy and Physiology textbook is an indispensable aid to understanding the answers. The questions have been used in examinations for undergraduate introductory courses and as such reflect the focus of these particular courses and are pitched at the level to challenge students that are beginning their training in anatomy and physiology. The questions and answer combinations are to be used both by teachers, to select questions for their next examinations, and by students, when studying for an upcoming test. Students enrolled in the courses for which these questions were written include nursing, midwifery, paramedic, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, nutrition & dietetics, health sciences and students taking an anatomy and physiology course as an elective.