You can access the library's databases remotely (off campus) with your LIU Brooklyn email user name and password. After the "Remote Access Login Screen" appears, type in your LIU email and password. Click the "LOGIN" button. Database access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.
You can access step by step remote access instructions here. If you can't access the databases from off campus you may call the circulation department at (718) 488-1338.
Online databases are used to access articles in both scholarly and popular periodicals. (For info about scholarly vs. popular sources, check out this brief video).
Once you open a database, enter your search terms in the search box. If you want to open a full text (whole) article within your search results, look for the words "PDF" or "HTML full text" under the article citation. If you don't see either of these terms, click on the "Check LinkSource for Full-Text" link.
If you don't see any of these options in the search results, LIU doesn't have the article in question. You can request any articles LIU doesn't have from Interlibrary Loan.
Click here for database search strategies from LIU librarians!
**A note to anyone who uses Google (or another Internet search engine) to look for articles: Articles found on Google will often try to get you to pay. As long as you're a student at LIU you can generally get any articles you want from our databases or Interlibrary Loan free of charge.**
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Includes gender studies content.
Gender Studies Collection
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, and health aspects.
GenderWatch
"GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace." (ProQuest website)
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database providing access to long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals, making complete archives of full text available and searchable. Coverage begins with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s, and extends to a "moving wall" of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. Includes thirty Feminist & Women's Studies journals.
ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database offering both scholarly and popular resources on a wide range of topics including gender studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Rich sociology database featuring more than two million records from 700+ journals dating back to 1908. Database also includes information on related academic disciplines, including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social development, social psychology, social structure, and social work.
