You can access the library's databases remotely (off campus) with your MyLIU or LIU email and password (full email address). Database access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.
Contact bkln-libcirc@liu.edu if you are unable to access the databases. Your library account may need to be renewed.
For best results, please download the latest FireFox browser. Clear cookies and browsing data from time to time.
You can use Google Scholar to search for scholarly literature in many academic subjects.
Any articles in Google Scholar owned by LIU can be accessed by clicking the blue link "Find FullText@LIU."
Make sure you evaluate sources found in Google Scholar for authority and credibility before using them in your research! Remember, don't pay for articles if you're asked to do so- talk to a librarian instead!
Online databases are used to access articles in both scholarly and popular periodicals. (For info about scholarly vs. popular sources, check out this brief video).
Once you open a database, enter your search terms in the search box. If you want to open a full text (whole) article within your search results, look for the words "PDF" or "HTML full text" under the article citation. If you don't see either of these terms, click on the "Check LinkSource for Full-Text" link.
If you don't see any of these options in the search results, LIU doesn't have the article in question. You can request any articles LIU doesn't have from Interlibrary Loan.
Click here for database search strategies from LIU librarians!
**A note to anyone who uses Google (or another Internet search engine) to look for articles: Articles found on Google will often try to get you to pay. As long as you're a student at LIU you can generally get any articles you want from our databases or Interlibrary Loan free of charge.**
Other Related Databases:
See also PubMed.
See also Dissertations & Theses: Full Text.
For more databases, please check the Databases A-Z List and the databases under the Psychology subject.
For more tutorials, please check the list of APA Databases on Ebsco tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL25A8CEBA08C0E7AB