LibGuides: Legal Research (Advanced): Databases & Journals

Legal Research Basics

Law Review or Law Journal articles are the "scholarly" literature of the legal profession. These publications contain case summaries written by students and articles written by professors, judges, and attorneys. These articles focus on current developments in the law, case decisions, and legislation. These articles are a great secondary source.

You can access Law Review Articles and other articles on legal subjects from the following databases at LIU Brooklyn:

Use your MyLIU credentials to access content in each database.

**Westlaw and LexisNexis are available to students in the Paralegal Studies Certificate Program. Please contact the Director of the Paralegal Studies Certificate Program: Richard Olivieri (richard.olivieri@liu.edu)**

ABI/INFORM Global
It contains Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, SSRN working papers, business cases and global and trade news. This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Criminal Justice Database
Criminal Justice Database is a database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. It includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Gale in Context: World History
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Previously known as World History in Context
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals. Previous known as Criminal Justice Collection
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals. Previous known as Diversity Studies Collection.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Previously known as Gender Studies Collection.
Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
Protection of assets is a concern for all: from the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. Previously known as Insurance and Liability Collection.
Gale OneFile: News
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Gale OneFile: News
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Gale OneFile: World History
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Previously known as World History Collection.
Global Breaking Newswires
Global Breaking Newswires is a library news product which provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources.
Hoover's Online
Company information on public and private enterprises in the U.S. and around the world, including company profiles, in-depth and historical financials, lists of officers, and the ability to create lists of companies by location, industry, sales, and/or type.
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
JSTOR
Provides access to long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals, making complete archives of full text available and searchable. Coverage begins with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s, and extends to a "moving wall" of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. JSTOR' now includes Current Collection, comprised of titles from leading publishers, covering journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, and Asian, African, Slavic, Latin American, and Middle Eastern studies, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
New York Times (1851 - 2014), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. See also ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1581 - 2004).
New York Times (1980 - Present)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Research Library
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Regional Business News
Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Social Science Citation Index (SSCI)
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines, as well as conference proceedings and books.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is a major source of business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
Washington Post
Provides coverage of in-depth news and analysis of American politics as well as national and international trends and events.

Library of Congress Tutorial

Find Journals

Search in this box by title of Journal/Law Review/Periodical

Some popular journals on legal subjects:

Harvard Law Review

ABA Journal

Fordham Law Review

Developing a topic?

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (now Gale Ebooks)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Included in this collection are works covering Public Relations, Psychology, Medicine, Literature and more.