LibGuides: SPC 745H High School Counseling: Databases and Articles

Databases

Search Strategies

Here are some tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on databases, but you can also check the 'Help' sections for more detailed search strategies.

Boolean: (using operators: AND, OR, NOT)

health AND medicine searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.

health OR medicine searches for one or all, but both are not required.

Truncation:

govern* searches fro govern, government, governmental, etc.

Wildcard:

m?n searches for man and men.

Remote Access

No library barcode is needed to access databases and e-journal packages anymore! Instead, for registered students, LIU credentials (email username and password) will be used to check out materials and access electronic resources remotely. For more information, please check the LIU's New University ID Card and the Library LibGuide. Please contact the Circulation Department for help: (718) 488-1080.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals. Previous known as Criminal Justice Collection
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals. Previous known as Diversity Studies Collection.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Web site of U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences which provides access to education literature and resources.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Previously known as Gender Studies Collection.
New York Times (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. See also New York Times (1851 - 2004) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycExtra This link opens in a new window
APA PsycExtra®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly APA PsycInfo database. The document types included in APA PsycExtra consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains records that are not indexed in any other APA database.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Previously known as Religion and Philosophy Collection.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window

Company and Industry research databases

Reference Databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library (now Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Included in this collection are works covering Public Relations, Psychology, Medicine, Literature and more.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

EBSCOhost Tutorial

Journal Finder: Find Full Text Journals by Title

Want to know whether the Library has other full-text journals electronically?

Click here.