The Acquisitions Department is responsible for the ordering, receiving and billing of all books, videos and periodical materials for the collection.
The department's main concern is to obtain material as quickly as possible. We aim to have our turn around down to three weeks for 70% of orders.
The Library Collection is developed through a liaison system comprised of subject bibliographers and guided by the Collection Development Policy which reflects changes in the curriculum.
Students and faculty are also invited to submit title requests. Title requests may be submitted via Collection Manager or emailed to Martin Zimerman. To facilitate requesting, we have opened up access to Blackwell's Collection Manager. This is Blackwell's Book Services online database of 1.2 million titles. It may be searched by title keyword, author keyword and ISBN. Subject access is through subject lists and classification schedules. Interested persons may contact us for further information or to schedule a training session for ordering.
We greatly appreciate all gifts we receive. However, in accordance with our gift policy, materials are incorporated into the library's collection at the discretion of the librarians.
Title recommendations may be submitted via our online Book Recommendations Form. This form is for recommending books that you think the library should acquire. The purchase decisions will be made at the discretion of the library. Faculty should order books through the regular channels.
Title requests may be submitted via Collection Manager or emailed to Patricia Keogh.