LibGuides: GBA 513: Library Resources: Databases and Articles

Databases

Search Strategies

Here are some tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but you can also check the 'Help' sections for more detailed search strategies.

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not)

health AND medicine searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.

health OR medicine searches for one or all, but both are not required.

Truncation:

govern* searches for govern, government, governmental, etc.

Wildcard:

m?n searches for man and men.

Remote Access

No library barcode is needed to access databases and e-journal packages anymore! Instead, for registered students, LIU credentials (email username and password) will be used to check out materials and access electronic resources remotely. For more information, please check the LIU’s New University ID Card and the Library LibGuide. Please contact the Circulation Department for help: bkln-libcirc@liu.edu; (718) 488-1080.

Articles in Databases

Gale Business: Insights
Combines the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research. Previous known as Business Economics and Theory.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Research Library
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Statista
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Our customized search query form provides you with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to your search request within a matter of seconds - kick-starting your research.

Company and Industry research databases

Check these databases for company histories, annual reports, financial indicators, equity reports, and more.

Hoover's Online
Company information on public and private enterprises in the U.S. and around the world, including company profiles, in-depth and historical financials, lists of officers, and the ability to create lists of companies by location, industry, sales, and/or type.

GBA 513: Library Resources: Databases and Articles

Databases

Search Strategies

Remote Access

Articles in Databases

Company and Industry research databases

Full Text Journals by Title