Brooklyn Library Resources and Services for LIU Hudson: Databases

Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Included in this collection are works covering Public Relations, Psychology, Medicine, Literature and more.

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

A comprehensive video subscription that covering a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the depth of content and breadth of content-types, such as documentaries, films, and demonstrations, makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.

Features web-based video platform physical examination techniques for students and faculty in medical, nursing and related programs.

Dance in Video will contain 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 278 videos, equaling 230 hours.

Kanopy is an interdisciplinary streaming video platform that offers an ever-growing catalog of more than 25,000 educational and feature films.​ Individual titles from the catalog can be licensed by the library for curricular use. Faculty may submit their requests for particular videos via the online form.

Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

An educational platform for the study of performing arts and dramatic texts with access to productions and educational resources.

Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Collection of full-text journals covering science, medicine, technology, business, social sciences, and more.

Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

Contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Web site of U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences which provides access to education literature and resources.

Provides access to long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals, making complete archives of full text available and searchable. Coverage begins with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s, and extends to a "moving wall" of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. JSTOR' now includes Current Collection, comprised of titles from leading publishers, covering journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, and Asian, African, Slavic, Latin American, and Middle Eastern studies, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals. Previous known as Diversity Studies Collection.

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Previously known as Gender Studies Collection.

This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Previously known as Popular Culture Collection.

ProQuest Health Management provides full text articles from over 800 specialized journals in the field of health administration covering topics such as: hospitals. business management, insurance, personnel management, health professions, ethics, health economics, statistics, and public health administration.

APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.