LibGuides: MPA 602 Human Resources Management: Articles

Search Strategies

Here are some tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but you can also check the 'Help' sections for more detailed search strategies.

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not)

health AND medicine searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.

health OR medicine searches for one or all, but both are not required.

Truncation:

govern* searches for govern, government, governmental, etc.

Wildcard:

m?n searches for man and men.

Remote Access

No library barcode is needed to access databases and e-journal packages anymore! Instead, for registered students, LIU credentials (email username and password) will be used to check out materials and access electronic resources remotely. For more information, please check the LIU’s New University ID Card and the Library LibGuide. Please contact the Circulation Department for help: bkln-libcirc@liu.edu; (718) 488-1080.

Articles in Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research. Previous known as Business Economics and Theory.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals, making complete archives of full text available and searchable. Coverage begins with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s, and extends to a "moving wall" of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. JSTOR' now includes Current Collection, comprised of titles from leading publishers, covering journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, and Asian, African, Slavic, Latin American, and Middle Eastern studies, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Company and Industry research databases

Check these databases for company histories, annual reports, financial indicators, equity reports, and more.

Full text electronic journals

All of the following journals are available to read, save, and print online. The links below will take you to the library catalog record for each journal. Click on any of the "Full text available" links within the record to browse articles within each journal, then enter your LIU credentials for access (if you are working from off campus).

Full Text Journals by Title

Want to know whether the Library has other full-text journals electronically?

Click here.