LibGuides: MPH 600: Find Articles

Access to Databases

Off-campus access to the article databases requires you to enter your MyLIU Username and Password when prompted.

Note: Access to article databases is a privilege available only for currently registered students and currently employed faculty and staff.

Interlibrary Loan

If you come across a book, video or journal article you need for your research, and the Brooklyn Library does not provide it in print or electronic format, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ILL is available both intra-LIU (that is, all LIU campus libraries) and beyond via ILLIAD, a network of academic and public libraries outside of LIU the Brooklyn Library is part of.

Choosing a Database

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. Recommended databases for Public Health include:

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (now Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Included in this collection are works covering Public Relations, Psychology, Medicine, Literature and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Ask a librarian for the best database on your topic!

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, PDF format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

Databases A-Z and by Subject

Get help now!

Chat with us! liu.edu/brooklyn-library

Text us! liu.edu/brooklyn-library

Email us! bkln-libref@liu.edu