LibGuides: MPH 740ː Program Planning, Implementation and Evaluation: Supplemental Reading

Resources Listed in Syllabus

Community Toolbox
This page lists 46 Chapters through which you can reach practical, step-by-step guidance in community-building skills.
County Health Rankings - NY State
The Rankings look at a variety of measures that affect health such as the rate of people dying before age 75, high school graduation rates, unemployment, limited access to healthy foods, air and water quality, income, and rates of smoking, obesity and teen births.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time.
NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene - Data and Statistics
The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time, to establish department priorities and to shape health policy at all levels of government.
Guide to Community Preventive Services - What Works to Promote Health
The Guide to Community Preventive Services is a free resource to help you choose programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community.
The Community Guide - Section on Economics
The economic review is critical in understanding:
total program costs and the cost per participant in the intervention, economic benefits from the intervention, whether the intervention results in cost savings, when there are no cost savings, and how much the intervention costs per additional unit of effectiveness.
CDC Healthy Communities Program
CDC's Healthy Communities Program works with communities through local, state and territory, and national partnerships to improve community leaders and stakeholders' skills and commitments for establishing, advancing, and maintaining effective population-based strategies that reduce the burden of chronic disease and achieve health equity.
American Evaluation Association - Guiding Principles for Evaluators
The American Evaluation Association’s mission is to improve evaluation practices and methods, increase evaluation use, promote evaluation as a profession, and support the contribution of evaluation to the generation of theory and knowledge about effective human action.
Colorado Grants - Sample Grant Proposal
This sample proposal was fully funded by local foundations. It was prepared by Colorado Grants, which has raised $100 million for nonprofit groups over the past ten years. See more samle grants at http://www.coloradogrants.org/
Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal
This Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal was created to help empower people to be successful in gaining funds for projects that provide worthwhile social service. A major theme that runs throughout the Guide is a concern for the development of meaningful cooperative relationships - with funding agencies, with community organizations, and with the people you are serving - as a basis for the development of strong fundable initiatives. The Guide is built on the assumption that it is through collaboration and participation at all levels that long term change can be effected.
NACCHO Toolbox
Tools within the Toolbox are materials and resources public health professionals and other external stakeholders can use to inform and improve their work in the promotion and advancement of public health objectives. Current examples of tools include, but are not limited to case examples, presentations, fact sheets, drills, evaluations, protocols, templates, reports, and training materials.
NACCHO Model Practices Database
The Model Practices Database is an online, searchable collection of innovative best practices across public health areas. These practices allow you to benefit from your colleagues'' experiences, to learn what works, get strategies on how to re-implement effective programs with good results, and save time and resources.
Program Development and Evaluation, Program Planning and Evaluation Reports - U of Wisconsin Coop Extension
The Program Development and Evaluation Unit provides training and technical assistance that enables Cooperative Extension campus and community-based faculty and staff to plan, implement and evaluate high quality educational programs.
W.K. Kellogg Foundation Evaluation Handbook
This handbook provides a framework for thinking about evaluation as a relevant and useful program tool. It was written primarily for project directors who have direct responsibility for the ongoing evaluation of W.K. Kellogg Foundation-funded projects.

Photovoice Web Resources

PhotoVoice.org
PhotoVoice’s mission is to build skills within disadvantaged and marginalised communities using innovative participatory photography and digital storytelling methods so that they have the opportunity to represent themselves and create tools for advocacy and communications to achieve positive social change.
Implementing PhotoVoice in Your Community

Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Tutorials

Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health: Pathways to Evidence-Based Resources
Evidence-based practice for public health involves using the best available evidence to make informed public health practice decisions. This website provides free online access to evidence-based public health (EBPH) resources, knowledge domains of public health, and public health journals and databases. The resources are arranged along a pathway of evidence to allow public health practitioners to easily find and use the best evidence to develop and implement effective interventions, programs, and policies.

Data and Statistical Resources

World Health Organization - Data & Statistics
Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO) - Data & Statistics
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), founded in 1902, is the world’s oldest international public health agency. It provides technical cooperation and mobilizes partnerships to improve health and quality of life in the countries of the Americas - North, Central, South America and the Caribbean.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) - Data & Statistics
Search for national data and statistics by topic.
New York State Department of Health - Data & Statistics
Includes public health data as well as hospital discharge data
NYC Department of Health & Mental Hygiene - Data & Statistics
The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time, to establish department priorities and to shape health policy at all levels of government. This site includes surveys, tools, community health profiles, and health data publications.
NYC Department of Health & Mental Hygiene - District Public Health Offices Research
Established in 2002, the Health Department's District Public Health Offices (DPHOs) work to promote health equity and reduce health disparities across New York City by targeting resources, programs, and attention to high-need neighborhoods in the South Bronx, East and Central Harlem, and North and Central Brooklyn.
American College Health Association - National College Health Assessment
The ACHA-NCHA offers a way for you to map the widest range of health issues: alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use, sexual health, weight, nutrition, and exercise, mental health, personal safety and violence.
CDC - College Health & Safety Issues
New York City Community Data Portal (Dept. of Urban Planning)
he profiles of the 59 community districts now include lists of Selected Facilities and Program Sites, including public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities in addition to summaries of land use and demographic data. Each district profile also includes listings of capital projects funded in the FY 2013 Adopted Capital Budget and FY 2014 Needs Statements submitted by community boards articulating their needs and priorities. Statements are included only for those boards that submitted them; not all boards are represented.
LIU Brooklyn Campus - Public Safety Statistics
The Department of Public Safety maintains daily, weekly and monthly statistics on all occurrences reported on campus and other mandated areas. These statistics are published annually by the Director of Public Safety, during the month of October.
Rehabs.com - College Drugs & Drinking Arrests
Exploring the drug cultures of hundreds of college campuses through use of their crime data.

Other Resources

Butterfoss, F. D. (2006). Process evaluation for community participation. Annual Review of Public Health, 27(1), 323-340

CDC. (1999). Framework for program evaluation in public health. Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Reports Recommended Reports, 48(RR-11), 1-40.

Geigera, B.F., Firsing IIIa, S.L., Beric, B., & Rodgersa, J.B. (2013). Readying the Health Education Specialist for Emergencies. American Journal of Health Education, 44(3), 128-133. http://0-dx.doi.org.liucat.lib.liu.edu/10.1080/19325037.2013.779900

Glasgow, R.E., Vogt, T.M., & Boles, S.M. (1999). Evaluating the public health impact of health promotion interventions: the RE-AIM framework. American Journal of Public Health, 89(9), 1322–1327.

Goldman, K.D., & Schmalz, K.J. (2006). Logic models: the picture worth ten thousand words. Health Promotion Practice, 7, 8-12.

Gallivan, J., Greenberg, R., & Brown, C. (2008). The National Diabetes Education Program evaluation framework: how to design an evaluation of a multifaceted public health education program. Preventing Chronic Disease, 5(4), A134.

Green, L.W., Kreuter, M.W. (2005). Health and program planning: An educational and ecological approach (4th ed.). New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Higher Education.

Scheirer, M. A. (2005). Is sustainability possible? A review and commentary on empirical studies of program sustainability. American Journal of Evaluation, 26(3), 320 - 347.

Using Photovoice with College Students

Seitz CM, Strack RW, Rice R, Moore E, Duvall T, Wyrick DL. Using the photovoice method to advocate for change to a campus smoking policy. J Am Coll Health. 2012;60(7):537-40. PMID: 23002802 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

Bibeau WS, Saksvig BI, Gittelsohn J, Williams S, Jones L, Young DR. Perceptions of the food marketing environment among African American teen girls and adults. Appetite. 2012 Feb;58(1):396-9. PMID: 22116054 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

Martin N, Garcia AC, Leipert B. Photovoice and its potential use in nutrition and dietetic research. Can J Diet Pract Res. 2010 Summer;71(2):93-7. Review. PMID: 20525421 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

Garcia AC, Sykes L, Matthews J, Martin N, Leipert B. Perceived facilitators of and barriers to healthful eating among university students. Can J Diet Pract Res. 2010 Summer;71(2):e28-33. PMID: 20525417 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

Downey LH, Ireson CL, Scutchfield FD. The use of photovoice as a method of facilitating deliberation. Health Promot Pract. 2009 Jul;10(3):419-27. doi: 10.1177/1524839907301408. PMID: 18322121 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

Goodhart FW, Hsu J, Baek JH, Coleman AL, Maresca FM, Miller MB. A view through a different lens: photovoice as a tool for student advocacy. J Am Coll Health. 2006 Jul-Aug;55(1):53-6. PMID: 16889316 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

Subject Guide

Katelyn Angell

Email Me

Contact:

Associate Professor
Coordinator of Library Instruction
Katelyn.Angell@liu.edu
718-488-1315