Public Health: Find Articles

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

• Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
• Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
• Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, PDF format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

You can access the library's databases remotely (off campus) with your LIU Brooklyn email user name and password. After the "Remote Access Login Screen" appears, type in your LIU email and password. Click the "LOGIN" button. Database access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.

Contact Reference if you are unable to access the databases via the chat service via the library's homepage.

If you come across a book, video or journal article you need for your research, and the Brooklyn Library does not provide it in print or electronic format, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ILL is available both intra-LIU (that is, all LIU campus libraries) and beyond via ILLIAD, a network of academic and public libraries outside of LIU the Brooklyn Library is part of.

You can use Google Scholar to search for scholarly literature in many academic subjects.
Any articles in Google Scholar owned by LIU can be accessed by clicking the blue link "Find FullText@LIU."
Make sure you evaluate sources found in Google Scholar for authority and credibility before using them in your research! Remember, don't pay for articles if you're asked to do so- talk to a librarian instead!

Online databases are used to access articles in both scholarly (peer-reviewed) and popular periodicals. (For info about scholarly vs. popular sources, check out the Scholarly vs Popular Sources video).

If you're looking for peer-reviewed journal articles you can check out the public health databases that the library subscribes to- several are recommended for you below.

Once you open a database, enter your search terms in the search box. If you want to open a full text (whole) article within your search results, look for the words "PDF" or "HTML full text" under the article citation. If you don't see either of these terms, click on the "Check LinkSource for Full-Text" link.

If you don't see any of these options in the search results, LIU doesn't have the article in question. You can request any articles LIU doesn't have from Interlibrary Loan.
Click here for database search strategies from LIU librarians!

**A note to anyone who uses Google (or another Internet search engine) to look for articles: Articles found on Google will often try to get you to pay. As long as you're a student at LIU you can generally get any articles you want from our databases or Interlibrary Loan free of charge.**

• CINAHL Complete
  Provides indexing for 3,0001 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals and provides full full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instructions, and clinical trials. 
   
• Cochrane Library
  Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Cochrane is an excellent resource for locating systematic reviews, but not for locating journal articles.
   
• MEDLINE
  Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers. 
   
• PsycINFO
  PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
  ​
• Mental Measurements Yearbook
  Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The library also owns volumes 7-11 in print. **This database does not include the tests themselves.**
   
• Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (Formerly Health Reference Center Academic)
  Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, this database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, it ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.

Created by Greenley Library, SUNY Farmingdale State College, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPn-243KgV8

Created by Steely Library, Northern Kentucky University, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7H_f4amPLo

Created by Georgia State University Library, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ud0U-NWuIj8