Public Health: Selecting a Topic in Public Health

Choose a topic that interests you and will hold your attention. If you do, the research will be more enjoyable! You can also subscribe to receive updates on the topic.  

Some resource suggestions:

• Search Medlineplus.gov with the words Public Health Issues
• Browse the PHPartners.org web site for other public health topics
• Subscribe and receive updates on the health topic "College Health" from MedlinePlus

Before selecting a topic or starting your research, make sure you understand your assignment and its requirements. Consider the following:

• How many pages/words do you need to write?
• Do you need to include specific types of sources? (e.g. scholarly journal, book, etc.)
• When is the assignment due? How much time do you have to research?
• Is currency of information important?

When in doubt, consult with your instructor!

Background information can help you decide on a topic and kickstart your research. Try these resources for ideas:

• Points of View Reference Center includes guides to controversial topics to help you develop your topic and research plan. 
• Gale EBooks (aka Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full text encyclopedias on almost every subject--it's like Wikipedia for college students!
• Opposing Viewpoints in Context includes a lot of information on today's hottest social issues. Content includes pro/con essays, articles, statistics, podcasts, and more.

Consider looking at the Subject List tab available in many online databases. You may find terms like "public health" and "program planning" and/or "program evaluation" and/or "program effectiveness."  

• Browse the Subject List for main terms in Academic Search Complete
• Browse by subject in JSTOR
• Browse through the thesaurus on the advanced search page of ProQuest Databases for the terms
• Browse for relevant MeSH - Medical Subject Headings - in MEDLINE