The Periodicals Department is located on the fourth floor of the Library. Some of print periodicals titles as well as many others are available in full text format in one of the Library's Online Databases and it is recommended that users search the databases for full text content. Please follow this link, Full Text Finder, to check if a particular journal title is available in a database.
The microform collections of the Periodicals Department are accessible during regular Library hours. When requesting articles, the Periodicals staff will ask you to fill out a call slip listing the Title of the Journal, Volume and Author of the article you are seeking. Bring print-outs of your index searches to the desk. It is strongly recommended that you request specific article(s) with a full citation when you come to the Periodicals Desk. Research, i.e., looking for journal articles, should be done with the help of a Reference Librarian on the third floor or with the help of the Periodicals Librarian on the fourth floor.
Upon request, the Periodicals Department will send LIU faculty members regular alerts of the table of contents of a specified journal or journals.
The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Department is located on the opposite side of the Periodicals Desk inside the Reading Room. When you are unable to find a book via the Library's online catalog or retrieve articles through the Library's subscription databases and the Periodicals Department, please submit a request via the ILLiad interlibrary loan system.
For more information about the Periodicals collections and services, please check out this LibGuide.
Periodicals Desk:
718 488 1318
Have a title? Want to know whether if it's available in an electronic format?
Search Full Text Finder!
For a list of the Library's subscription databases, click here.