History 100 Library Research Guide: Databses & Articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Included in this collection are works covering Public Relations, Psychology, Medicine, Literature and more.

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Digitized collection of the historic Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper, produced by Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection and funded by the Library and the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. Phase one of the digitization project covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Provides access to long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals, making complete archives of full text available and searchable. Coverage begins with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s, and extends to a "moving wall" of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. JSTOR' now includes Current Collection, comprised of titles from leading publishers, covering journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, and Asian, African, Slavic, Latin American, and Middle Eastern studies, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. See also ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1581 - 2004).

Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.

As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Previously known as World History Collection.

Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Previously known as World History in Context

Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.

Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. See also New York Times (1851 - 2004) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.