LibGuides: Nursing Care at the End-of-Life: Articles

Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Previously known as Nursing and Allied Health Collection.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Select Journals

International Journal of Palliative Nursing

CINAHL Complete 2002 to present
CINAHL Plus with Full Text 2002 to present

Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing

CINAHL Complete 1999 - 2007
CINAHL Plus with Full Text 1999 - 2007
LWW Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection 2004 to present

American journal of hospice & palliative care

LIU Libraries Print & Microform Click on link for library holdings

American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®

Sage Journals 1/1/1999 - to present
Sage Premier 2015 1999 to present

OMEGA--Journal of Death and Dying

Education Research Complete 2003 to present (Embargo: 6 months)
Education Source 2003 to present (Embargo: 6 months)
Professional Development Collection 2003 to present (Embargo: 6 months)
Sage Journals 1970 to present
SocINDEX with Full Text 2003 to present (Embargo: 6 months)

Social Perspectives on Death & Dying

SocINDEX with Full Text 2007

Death Studies

Academic Search Complete 1993 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
CINAHL Complete 1993 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text 1993 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 1993 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
LIU Libraries Print & Microform Click on link for library holdings
Taylor & Francis Library (SSH and ST) 1997 to present

End of Life Care Journal

CINAHL Complete 2009 - 2010

ISSN: 1754-1069

Journal of Social Work in End-Of-Life & Palliative Care

SocINDEX with Full Text 2005 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
Taylor & Francis Library (SSH and ST) 2005 to present

Recent Journal Articles from Medline/PubMed

PubMed Articles

Web Articles

Midwives for the Dying
A physician and nurse practitioner discuss the emerging role of medicals professionals who ease the death process. There is no one right way to die, but just as we need help coming into the world, we need support and love going out of it.
Death Midwives Help Families Cope with End of Life Care

Nursing Care at the End-of-Life: Articles

Search Terms

Databases

Select Journals

Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing

American journal of hospice & palliative care

American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®

OMEGA--Journal of Death and Dying

Social Perspectives on Death & Dying

Death Studies

End of Life Care Journal

Journal of Social Work in End-Of-Life & Palliative Care

Recent Journal Articles from Medline/PubMed

Web Articles