LibGuides: MPH 625: Environmental Health Issues in Public Health: Supplemental Reading

Environmental Health Resources

California Safe Cosmetics Program Product Database
The California Safe Cosmetics Act (the Act) requires companies that manufacture cosmetics to report any cosmetics products that contain ingredients known or suspected to cause cancer, birth defects, or other reproductive harm. The California Safe Cosmetics Program (CSCP) collects this data and makes it available to the public through this website. From the California Department of Public Health.
CDC Healthy Communities Program
CDC's Healthy Communities Program works with communities through local, state and territory, and national partnerships to improve community leaders and stakeholders' skills and commitments for establishing, advancing, and maintaining effective population-based strategies that reduce the burden of chronic disease and achieve health equity.
Community Toolbox
This page lists 46 Chapters through which you can reach practical, step-by-step guidance in community-building skills.
Environmental Protection Agency
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time.
Household Products Database
This database links over 13,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
New York City Department of Environmental Protection
The New York City Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) protects public health and the environment by supplying clean drinking water, collecting and treating wastewater, and reducing air, noise, and hazardous materials pollution.
New York State Department of Environmental Conversation
Mission: "To conserve, improve and protect New York's natural resources and environment and to prevent, abate and control water, land and air pollution, in order to enhance the health, safety and welfare of the people of the state and their overall economic and social well-being."
NLM Environmental Health & Toxicology
Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program maintains a comprehensive web site that provides access to resources produced by it and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. TEHIP also is responsible for the Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®), an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web.
NYC DOHMH Health Environment Webpage
The environment we live in affects so many parts of our life. Whether we are indoors or outdoors, the quality of the food we eat, the air we breathe—these things affect our health and our daily lives. Learn more about the environment in New York City and how to protect your health.
NYC Environmental Health Tracking Portal
The portal allows you to create reports, tables, charts and maps on these topics:

Neighborhood, Housing and Water Quality
Outdoor Air and Weather
Health Outcomes and Human Exposures
Pests and Pesticides
PlaNYC Sustainability Indicators
ToxTown
Tox Town is designed to give you information on:

*everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals
*non-technical descriptions of chemicals
*links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet
*how the environment can impact human health
*Internet resources on environmental health topics

Photovoice Web Resources

PhotoVoice.org
PhotoVoice’s mission is to build skills within disadvantaged and marginalised communities using innovative participatory photography and digital storytelling methods so that they have the opportunity to represent themselves and create tools for advocacy and communications to achieve positive social change.
Implementing PhotoVoice in Your Community

What Journals does LIU Library Own?

You can search for a journal by its title and what years we have full-text articles; you can also search within these journals at the following link:

Full Text Journal by Title

You can also get to this link by

Going to liu.edu/brooklyn/library
Click on Full-Text Journal by Title
Type in Journal Name

If the journal you are looking for is not listed, consider requesting specific articles through the Library's free Interlibrary Loan service.

Data and Statistical Resources

American College Health Association - National College Health Assessment
The ACHA-NCHA offers a way for you to map the widest range of health issues: alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use, sexual health, weight, nutrition, and exercise, mental health, personal safety and violence.
CDC - College Health & Safety Issues
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) - Data & Statistics
Search for national data and statistics by topic.
County Health Rankings
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.
LIU Brooklyn Campus - Public Safety Statistics
The Department of Public Safety maintains daily, weekly and monthly statistics on all occurrences reported on campus and other mandated areas. These statistics are published annually by the Director of Public Safety, during the month of October.
New York City Community Data Portal (Dept. of Urban Planning)
he profiles of the 59 community districts now include lists of Selected Facilities and Program Sites, including public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities in addition to summaries of land use and demographic data. Each district profile also includes listings of capital projects funded in the FY 2013 Adopted Capital Budget and FY 2014 Needs Statements submitted by community boards articulating their needs and priorities. Statements are included only for those boards that submitted them; not all boards are represented.
New York State Department of Health - Data & Statistics
Includes public health data as well as hospital discharge data
NYC Department of Health & Mental Hygiene - Data & Statistics
The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time, to establish department priorities and to shape health policy at all levels of government. This site includes surveys, tools, community health profiles, and health data publications.
Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO) - Data & Statistics
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), founded in 1902, is the world’s oldest international public health agency. It provides technical cooperation and mobilizes partnerships to improve health and quality of life in the countries of the Americas - North, Central, South America and the Caribbean.
World Health Organization - Data & Statistics

Community-Based & Non-governmental Organizations

Center for Environmental Health
CEH protects people from toxic chemicals by working with communities, consumers, workers, government, and the private sector to demand and support business practices that are safe for public health and the environment.
Center for Food Safety
Center for Food Safety (CFS) is a national non-profit public interest and environmental advocacy organization working to protect human health and the environment by curbing the use of harmful food production technologies and by promoting organic and other forms of sustainable agriculture.
Clearwater
Clearwater’s longtime strategy of inspiring, educating and activating people is still a powerful formula for success. Utilizing the greatest natural resource in the region–the Hudson River–Clearwater has become the grassroots model for producing changes to protect our planet.
Consumer Reports GreenerChoices
GreenerChoices.org, launched on Earth Day 2005 by Consumers Union, the non-profit publisher of Consumer Reports, is a Web-based initiative to inform, engage, and empower consumers about environmentally-friendly products and practices. GreenerChoices.org offers an accessible, reliable, and practical source of information on buying “greener” products that have minimal environmental impact and meet personal needs.
Environmental Advocates of New York
Environmental Advocates of New York's mission is to protect our air, land, water, and wildlife and the health of all New Yorkers. Based in Albany, EANY monitors state government, evaluate proposed laws, and champion policies and practices that will ensure the responsible stewardship of our shared environment. EANY works to support and strengthen the efforts of New York's environmental community and to make our state a national leader.
National Resources Defense Council
NRDC is the nation's most effective environmental action group, combining the grassroots power of 1.4 million members and online activists with the courtroom clout and expertise of more than 350 lawyers, scientists and other professionals.
NYC Environmental Justice Alliance
Founded in 1991, NYC-EJA organizes its member groups to advocate for the empowerment and just treatment of environmentally overburdened neighborhoods. Through NYC-EJA’s efforts, member organizations coalesce around City and State-wide issues that threaten the ability of low income communities of color to thrive.
NYPIRG: NY Public Interest Research Group
NYPIRG is New York State's largest student-directed research and advocacy organization. NYPIRG's principal areas of concern are environmental protection, consumer rights, higher education, government reform, voter registration, mass transit and public health.
WE ACT for Environmental Justice
West Harlem Environmental Action, Inc. (WE ACT for Environmental Justice) is a Northern Manhattan community-based organization whose mission is to build healthy communities by assuring that people of color and/or low-income participate meaningfully in the creation of sound and fair environmental health and protection policies and practices.
Women's Voices for the Earth
Mission: Women’s Voices for the Earth amplifies women’s voices to eliminate the toxic chemicals that harm our health and communities.

Core Public Health Journals in Environmental Health

American Journal of Industrial Medicine
Archives of Environmental & Occupational Health: An International Journal
Environmental Health Perspectives
Environmental Health: A Global Access Science Source
Environmental Research
Epidemiology
Journal of Environmental Health
Journal of Exposure Science and Environmental Epidemiology
Journal of Occupational & Environmental Hygiene
Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Mutation Research : Genetic Toxicology and Environmental Mutagenesis
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology
Scandinavian Journal of Work, Environment and Health
Toxicological Sciences
Toxicology and Environmental Health Part B: Critical Reviews

Research Level Core
Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Archives of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology
Archives of Toxicology
Biomarkers
Bulletin of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology
Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers and Prevention
Chemosphere
Clinical toxicology (Philadelphia, PA)
Critical Reviews in Toxicology
Environmental and Molecular Mutagenesis
Environmental Science and Pollution Research--International
Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry
Food and Chemical Toxicology
Foodborne Pathogens and Disease
Health Physics
Indoor Air
Inhalation Toxicology
International Archives of Occupational and Environmental Health
International Journal of Hygiene and Environmental Health
International Journal of Occupational and Environmental Health
Journal of Applied Toxicology
Journal of Environmental Quality
Journal of Food Safety
Journal of Medical Entomology
Journal of the Air and Waste Management Association
Journal of the American Mosquito Control Association
Journal of Water and Health
Mutation Research: Fundamental and Molecular Mechanisms of Mutagenesis
Neurotoxicology
Neurotoxicology and Teratology
Reproductive Toxicology
Reviews on Environmental Health
Science of the Total Environment
Toxicologic Pathology
Toxicology
Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology
Toxicology and Environmental Health Part A: Current Issues
Toxicology and Industrial Health
Toxicology Letters

Source: Core Public Health Journals Project, Public Health/Health Administration Section, Medical Library Association

Subject Guide

Katelyn Angell

Email Me

Contact:

Associate Professor
Coordinator of Library Instruction
Katelyn.Angell@liu.edu
718-488-1315

Grey Literature Resources

ATSDR Toxicological Profiles

Access the most important information about toxic substances and how they affect our health by clicking on:

The alphabet for documents on specific substances
Toxicological information by health effect or chemical class
Toxicological information by audience

Environmental Health Criteria

Environmental Health Criteria (EHC) documents provide international, critical reviews on the effects of chemicals or combinations of chemicals and physical and biological agents on human health and the environment.

Food Protection Trends

Each issue contains refereed articles on applied research, applications of current technology and general interest subjects for food safety professionals. Regular features include industry and association news, an industry-related products section and a calendar of meetings, seminars and workshops. Updates of government regulations and sanitary design are also featured.

IARC Monographs on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risks to Humans

The IARC Monographs identify environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors. National health agencies can use this information as scientific support for their actions to prevent exposure to potential carcinogens.

Journal - American Water Works Association

Journal AWWA: disseminates cutting-edge technical information and research to water supply professionals, highlights best management practices in the industry, presents a forum for thought leaders in the water and wastewater industry, and provides the best and most current information on regulations affecting the water industry in the United States.

National Toxicology Program Technical Report Series

These studies are designed and conducted to characterize and evaluate the toxicologic potential, including carcinogenic activity, of selected chemicals in laboratory animals (usually two species, rats and mice). Chemicals selected for NTP toxicology and carcinogenesis studies are chosen primarily on the bases of human exposure, level of production, and chemical structure.