You can access the library's databases remotely (off campus) with your LIU Brooklyn email user name and password. After the "Remote Access Login Screen" appears, type in your LIU email and password. Click the "LOGIN" button. Database access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.
Please call the Circulation Department at 718-488-1338 or email them at bkln-libcirc@liu.edu if your credentials don't work.
All LIU Brooklyn students, faculty, and staff are welcome to sign up for a NYTimes.com pass! It provides users complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT apps. Please register with your LIU email address to create your individual account.
The New York Times Academic Site License program provides all students, faculty, and staff with full access to NYTimes.com on any device, on or off campus, including access to its archive content back to 1851.
If there is an article that you would like access to but LIU Brooklyn doesn't have we welcome you to place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request!
This service allows LIU Brooklyn librarians to get access to articles we don't own from other libraries. Please send a citation for the article(s) in question to bkln-lib-interlibraryloan@liu.edu. If we're able to get the article it'll be sent to you electronically via email.
We aren't able to fulfill requests for books at the moment due to COVID-19. However, if there's a book you'd like to get that we don't have please feel free to contact reference librarians at bkln-libref@liu.edu and we'll see if we can connect you with a free copy elsewhere.
Online databases are used to access articles in both scholarly and popular periodicals. (For info about scholarly vs. popular sources, check out this brief video).
Once you open a database, enter your search terms in the search box. If you want to open a full text (whole) article within your search results, look for the words "PDF" or "HTML full text" under the article citation. If you don't see either of these terms, click on the "Check LinkSource for Full-Text" link.
If you don't see any of these options in the search results, LIU doesn't have the article in question. You can request any articles LIU doesn't have from Interlibrary Loan, by sending the citation of articles you'd like to bkln-interlibraryloan@liu.edu. We will do our best to fulfill your requests electronically.
**A note to anyone who uses Google (or another Internet search engine) to look for articles: Articles found on Google will often try to get you to pay. As long as you're faculty, staff, or a student at LIU you can generally get any articles you want from our databases or Interlibrary Loan free of charge.**
To access any of these journals, go to the LIU Brooklyn Library website and type the journal's name in the Journal Finder search box and click "search."
On the next page, click on the "Business Source Complete" link to access issues of this journal from 2013-present. You can access these journals from off-campus by logging in with your LIU email credentials.
You can use Google Scholar to search for scholarly literature in many academic subjects. Set your Google Scholar settings to link to LIU Brooklyn's digital collection!
Step 1: Go to Google Scholar and click the three horizontal bars in the corner to view the menu
Step 2: Click the gear icon to see the "settings"
Step 3: Click "Library Links" and then search for "Long Island University"
Step 4. Check the boxes next to "Long Island University" links
Step 5: Click "save"
Any articles in Google Scholar owned by LIU can be accessed by clicking the blue link "Find FullText@LIU."
Remember, don't pay for articles that you find on Google if you're asked to do so- talk to a librarian instead!
