Global Studies - Library Resources and Services: Databases

Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Included in this collection are works covering Public Relations, Psychology, Medicine, Literature and more.

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

It provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

It contains Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, SSRN working papers, business cases and global and trade news. This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.

Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.

Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals. Previous known as Criminal Justice Collection

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals. Previous known as Diversity Studies Collection.

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Previously known as Gender Studies Collection.

This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Previously known as Popular Culture Collection.

Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Previously known as Religion and Philosophy Collection.

Provides access to long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals, making complete archives of full text available and searchable. Coverage begins with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s, and extends to a "moving wall" of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. JSTOR' now includes Current Collection, comprised of titles from leading publishers, covering journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, and Asian, African, Slavic, Latin American, and Middle Eastern studies, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Journals articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations in Health and Medicine.

Features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

This showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.

This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines

Local and regional news coverage - newspapers

This database offers access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers.

Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage.

Local and regional news coverage - newspaper

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. See also ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1581 - 2004).

Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.

The Wall Street Journal is a major source of business news and information on financial markets worldwide.

Provides coverage of in-depth news and analysis of American politics as well as national and international trends and events.

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Global Breaking Newswires is a library news product which provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources.

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format

Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives which span decades. It features newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format

Ongoing full-text academic journals published in Middle Eastern and African countries. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Middle Eastern newspapers

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.