MPH 798 Capstone Seminar: Supplemental Reading

This page lists 46 Chapters through which you can reach practical, step-by-step guidance in community-building skills.

The Rankings look at a variety of measures that affect health such as the rate of people dying before age 75, high school graduation rates, unemployment, limited access to healthy foods, air and water quality, income, and rates of smoking, obesity and teen births.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time.

The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time, to establish department priorities and to shape health policy at all levels of government.

The Guide to Community Preventive Services is a free resource to help you choose programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community.

The economic review is critical in understanding:
total program costs and the cost per participant in the intervention, economic benefits from the intervention, whether the intervention results in cost savings, when there are no cost savings, and how much the intervention costs per additional unit of effectiveness.

CDC's Healthy Communities Program works with communities through local, state and territory, and national partnerships to improve community leaders and stakeholders' skills and commitments for establishing, advancing, and maintaining effective population-based strategies that reduce the burden of chronic disease and achieve health equity.

The American Evaluation Association’s mission is to improve evaluation practices and methods, increase evaluation use, promote evaluation as a profession, and support the contribution of evaluation to the generation of theory and knowledge about effective human action.

This sample proposal was fully funded by local foundations. It was prepared by Colorado Grants, which has raised $100 million for nonprofit groups over the past ten years. See more samle grants at http://www.coloradogrants.org/

This Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal was created to help empower people to be successful in gaining funds for projects that provide worthwhile social service. A major theme that runs throughout the Guide is a concern for the development of meaningful cooperative relationships - with funding agencies, with community organizations, and with the people you are serving - as a basis for the development of strong fundable initiatives. The Guide is built on the assumption that it is through collaboration and participation at all levels that long term change can be effected.

Tools within the Toolbox are materials and resources public health professionals and other external stakeholders can use to inform and improve their work in the promotion and advancement of public health objectives. Current examples of tools include, but are not limited to case examples, presentations, fact sheets, drills, evaluations, protocols, templates, reports, and training materials.

The Model Practices Database is an online, searchable collection of innovative best practices across public health areas. These practices allow you to benefit from your colleagues'' experiences, to learn what works, get strategies on how to re-implement effective programs with good results, and save time and resources.

The Program Development and Evaluation Unit provides training and technical assistance that enables Cooperative Extension campus and community-based faculty and staff to plan, implement and evaluate high quality educational programs.

This handbook provides a framework for thinking about evaluation as a relevant and useful program tool. It was written primarily for project directors who have direct responsibility for the ongoing evaluation of W.K. Kellogg Foundation-funded projects.

The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), founded in 1902, is the world’s oldest international public health agency. It provides technical cooperation and mobilizes partnerships to improve health and quality of life in the countries of the Americas - North, Central, South America and the Caribbean.

Search for national data and statistics by topic.

Includes public health data as well as hospital discharge data

The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time, to establish department priorities and to shape health policy at all levels of government. This site includes surveys, tools, community health profiles, and health data publications.

The ACHA-NCHA offers a way for you to map the widest range of health issues: alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use, sexual health, weight, nutrition, and exercise, mental health, personal safety and violence.

he profiles of the 59 community districts now include lists of Selected Facilities and Program Sites, including public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities in addition to summaries of land use and demographic data. Each district profile also includes listings of capital projects funded in the FY 2013 Adopted Capital Budget and FY 2014 Needs Statements submitted by community boards articulating their needs and priorities. Statements are included only for those boards that submitted them; not all boards are represented.

The Department of Public Safety maintains daily, weekly and monthly statistics on all occurrences reported on campus and other mandated areas. These statistics are published annually by the Director of Public Safety, during the month of October.

Exploring the drug cultures of hundreds of college campuses through use of their crime data.

Network of women with MPH degrees prioritizing women's health issues.

The Latina Researchers Network was founded in 2012 in response to the underrepresentation of historically disadvantaged populations with advanced degrees and in support of examining the barriers and opportunities for advancement in research and academic positions. The Network was established to create a multidisciplinary and vibrant supportive community that can ensure the next generation of investigators has access to role models, allies and networking opportunities to succeed in academia and research activities.

The mission of the Greater Brooklyn Health Coalition is to create an agenda for action and unity to reduce public health disparities and improve the health of all Brooklyn.

Evidence-based practice for public health involves using the best available evidence to make informed public health practice decisions. This website provides free online access to evidence-based public health (EBPH) resources, knowledge domains of public health, and public health journals and databases. The resources are arranged along a pathway of evidence to allow public health practitioners to easily find and use the best evidence to develop and implement effective interventions, programs, and policies.