Nursing: Books

Covers all of the steps of the research process for specific disciplines. Develops the skills to evaluate problem and purpose statements critically and analyze the parts of a study to determine the validity of the findings. Discusses the specific statistical procedures used to answer various research questions and/or hypotheses. Examines randomized clinical trials as a methodological 'gold standard' and explains why other types of design are so often necessary in nursing research.

An accessible and practical reference for undergraduates in nursing and midwifery explaining the principles and value of health research.

Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fourth Edition introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. The text helps students understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. By linking evidence-based practice to recent research in safety and quality programs, it provides timely information in both healthcare and nursing settings.

This is a unique, innovative professional nursing ethics textbook designed specifically for all practicing nurses and to meet the educational needs of all nursing students, including RN to BSN and RN to MSN students. Written by experts in the field, it discusses ethical concepts relevant to the registered nurse who has practiced for several years but is learning higher level concepts and applications. This text addresses different areas of professional practice and is rich with case studies illustrating the need for ethical competence and decision making. The book fulfills the necessary criteria for the AACN Essentials for Baccalaureate Education and the QSEN and IOM competencies. It also integrates relevant provisions and statements from the revised Code for Nurses (ANA, 2015).

Designed for both new registered nurses and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the only resource to provide essential information on more than 300 topics from 11 specialty areas. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today. Key leaders in clinical content areas authored content on emergency and critical care, geriatric nursing, health systems and health promotion, medical surgical nursing, neonatal nursing, nurse anesthesia, obstetrics and women's health, palliative care, perioperative nursing, pediatric nursing, and psychiatric mental health nursing. Alphabetized for easy access, each entry includes a definition and description of the clinical problem, etiology, nursing assessment, related problems, interventions, nursing management and evaluation, and safety considerations.

This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts.

Data for Nurses: Understanding and Using Data to Optimize Care Delivery in Hospitals and Health Systems provides information for nurses on how to work with data to effectively evaluate and improve care delivery for patients. Quality, benchmarking, and research data are increasingly used to guide care in hospitals and health systems, and nurses are expected to actively use this information to identify interventions to optimize outcomes and meet reporting and financial targets.

This book is designed to help anyone preparing to take the RN licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. The book is divided into seven parts. Part I explains the basics of NCLEX test construction and gives ideas to students about how they should prepare. Parts II to V are designed to support the four major content areas of pre-licensure programs: medical-surgical, psychiatric/mental health, maternity, and pediatrics. Each of these sections contains multiple questions and answers in a side-by-side format. Part VI, "Issues in Nursing," emphasizes content areas that do not easily fall in any of the other sections: management/leadership and ethical/legal issues. Part VII consists of three Comprehensive Tests of varying lengths from 75 questions (the minimum number of items any student taking the NCLEX RN will receive) to 265 questions (the maximum number of items any student taking the NCLEX RN will receive).

Reviews key nursing content. Offers tips to manage test-taking anxiety as well as specific strategies for answering multiple-choice and alternate-format questions. Codes all questions by concept and content area. Describes the structure of the NCLEX-RN®. Emphasizes critical thinking, study skills, and time management. Features self-assessment test-analysis tools in the "Tools" tab that focus on either the process of test taking (performance trends or information processing errors) or knowledge deficits at both the general and discipline-specific level, and suggests corrective action plans.

In this comprehensive textbook on palliative care nursing, editors Marianne Matzo and Deborah Witt Sherman succeed in bringing together the heart of nursing and the true meaning of palliative care with the most current evidence based practice." --GeriPal This fourth edition of a comprehensive text/reference that has been valued by students, educators, and practicing nurses for many years, Palliative Care Nursing continues to reflect the fundamental hospice and palliative care nursing competencies---both basic and advanced--that are essential for effective and empathetic care of patients and families.

This book covers the diagnostic reasoning process that providers must follow when assessing an actual case. The text outlines each step of the health assessment process and further demonstrates the link between health history and physical examination. It also provides the healthcare professional with the essential data needed to formulate a diagnosis and treatment plan.

Here’s the 5th Edition of the resource you’ll turn to again and again to select the appropriate diagnosis and to plan, individualize, and document care for more than 850 diseases and disorders. A new, streamlined design makes reference easier than ever.
Only in the Nursing Diagnosis Manual will you find for each diagnosis…defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively - sample clinical applications to ensure you have selected the appropriate diagnoses - prioritized action/interventions with rationales - a documentation section, and much more!

This second edition continues to be the only advanced practice nursing text to focus on core competencies in both epidemiology and population health. It delivers essential content for doctoral nursing practice (DNP) as outlined by the AACN, and encompasses the many changes in health care that affect populationbased nursing, including the latest requirements set forth by the enactment of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Completely updated chapters include relevant case examples that exemplify successful strategies nurses have used to improve population outcomes. This edition provides a strong foundation in epidemiologic methodology, including mortality measures, the validity and reliability of testing, study designs, sample size, assessing risk and causality, and data analysis and interpretation.

Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. The text employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. The author team draws from extensive experience across the continuum of care to bring readers a truly informative and dynamic resource. Clinical Nursing Calculations has been expertly organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations.

Pediatric Nursing Care: A Concept-Based Approach teaches undergraduate nursing students the need to know information for working in a pediatric nursing environment. The text has a strong focus on patient safety and QSEN competencies as well as the Family Centered Care Theory. This pediatric-focused text emphasizes communication and interdisciplinary team work, provides family education guidelines, questions for soliciting health history and employs a concept-based approach to the content. This text is differentiated from others through its unique approach to family dynamics including constellation, culture and religious influences to pediatric treatment.

This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues.