A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
 Journal Finder
 
Journal Finder

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
5-Minute Consult helps physicians, clinical students, and healthcare professionals deliver patient care by providing quick answers they can trust at point of care. This fully integrated, online resource is based on best-selling content by leading family and internal medicine practitioners, and is updated regularly.
Trial
New
AccessMedicine provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome. AccessMedicine is also available and can be accessed after registering to create a personal MyAccessPharmacy account from a computer at the Brooklyn Campus. LIU Brooklyn Physician Assistant students and faculty only.
Trial
A collection devoted to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
Trial
Acland Anatomy is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
New
Produced by the Association of College & Research Libraries, ACRL Metrics contains the annual Summary Data Tables of aggregated library data reports from the ACRL Academic Library Trends and Statistics survey. Login required. Login information can be obtained at the Library Reference Desk.
New
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.
New
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
New
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
New
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
New
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
New
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
New
American Doctoral Dissertations, is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H. W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select American colleges and universities. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a broad span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions. The subset of this database, American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations completed during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Containing twenty-two years of dissertation research and amounting to nearly 100,000 citations, this index was compiled annually for the National Research Council and The American Council of Learned Societies by the Association of Research Libraries. It was published by the H. W. Wilson Company.
New
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
New
Available through Web of Science, allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Indexes 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals.
New
The ASIS&T Digital Library consists of regularly published journals and annual publications from the Association for Information Science and Technology, including the Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology, the Annual Review of Information Science and Technology, the Bulletin of the Association for Information Science and Technology, and the Proceedings of the ASIST Annual Meetings.
New
Features web-based video platform physical examination techniques for students and faculty in medical, nursing and related programs.
New
Provides access to journals articles with a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
New
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases contains hundreds of international cases which present real-world challenges facing the business of fashion across sectors, tackling important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
New
Case Files Collection is an online library of true-to-life clinical cases. You’ll have access to an extensive collection of carefully crafted cases designed to simulate the clinical approach and decision making. Case Files Collection provides an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls and board style review questions. To ensure full functionality with the cases and study tools, students and faculty are encouraged to register to create a personal MyAccess account from a computer at the Brooklyn Campus. LIU Brooklyn Physician Assistant students and faculty only.
New
Contains reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education.
New
This database provides journal coverage of computer topics, including Database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet. It includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's.
New
Family Health Database includes journals and magazines covering a range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
New
A health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak
New
[On Campus Access] Credo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 645 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
New
COVID-19 Free Resource: Drama Online is now available to academic institutions \ through the end of May 2020. Please use FireFox browser.
New
DynaMed, an evidence-based clinical decision support tool, provides comprehensive coverage and current, relevant clinical updates, bringing vital knowledge to physicians and healthcare professionals at the point of care. Curated from more than 500 medical journals. It incorporates over 21,000 global guidelines including National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) and the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) guidelines.
New
Ebook Central (Formerly ebrary) from ProQuest is an eBook platform that contains over a 10,000 ebook titles available for LIU users.
New
This collection offers full text titles with unlimited access designed specifically to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all academic subjects from History, to Language and Literature, to Science & Technology.
New
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) expands the citation universe and reflects the growing global body of science and scholarly activity. ESCI complements the highly selective indexes by providing earlier visibility for sources under evaluation as part of SCIE, SSCI, and AHCI’s rigorous journal selection process. Inclusion in ESCI provides greater discoverability which leads to measurable citations and more transparency in the selection process.
New
ePointPlus from Rosen Publishing is a collection of over 80 pre-school and primary school level ebooks from well-known K-8 publishers, offering curriculum based high interest content, that is aligned to national, state, and common core standards. Features include 24/7 unlimited simultaneous access, and tablet, smartphone, and Chromebook compatibility. Individual accounts allow users to save their work using its notebook enhanced features.
New
Explora is a dedicated search interface for selected EBSCO databases, developed primarily for schools and public libraries.
New
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
New
It provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
New
Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Previously known as Something About the Author Online.
New
Educators Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
New
New
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
New
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.
New
General Reference Center Gold provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one easy interface. This general interest database offers the latest content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
New
A collection of GVRL titles for Artemis Literary Sources.
New
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
New
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of historical eBook titles covering global topics from the ancient world through today.
New
Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
New
Provides bibliometrics on scholarly journals including CiteScore, SNIP, and SJR.
New
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.
New
[LIU Pharmacy Only] A newsletter published by The Medical Letter, Inc., a nonprofit organization that publishes appraisals of new prescription drugs and reviews of drugs for common diseases. [Access: Brooklyn Only, provided by the School of Pharmacy]
New
Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry profiles and news, facts and figures including Key Business Ratios, executive contact information and more.
New
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
New
An NYTimes.com Pass provided by Long Island University. It provides users complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT apps.*. Please register with your LIU email address to create your individual account. The New York Times Academic Site License program provides all students, faculty, and staff with full access to NYTimes.com on any device, on or off campus, including access to its archive content back to 1851.
New
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
New
Non-book Materials Core Collection covers a range of audiobooks, book reviews, games, periodicals, sound recordings, video recordings, websites and other electronic resources for guidance in building and maintaining library collections.
New
This database offers coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Trial
Trial
A subscription portal to Lippincott content for use in medical, pharmacy, and other health sciences programs.
New
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
New
ProQuest Central Essentials provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
New
PsycEXTRA®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database.
New
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, this database provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events. Previously known as PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress.
New
New
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Trial
A digital collection tailored to library needs, providing librarians, faculty, and students with cases to support their curriculum and independent research. It offers 1,700 cases from around the world and the collection continues to grow.
New
Provides indexing and abstracts from over 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Links to full text of articles when available through our Library.
New
The Serials Directory™ provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
New
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
New
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines, as well as conference proceedings and books.
New
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Trial
Provides colleges and universities with academic streaming collection, including films, documentaries and TV shows.
New
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
New
VetMed Resource contains key records on all aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present. It contains full text documents from conferences, journals and bulletins. Also provides access to bibliographic citations and abstract to journal articles. CABI Reviews, Datasheets on diseases and pathogens, and the Animal Health and Production Compendium, a collection of datasheets providing expert analysis of animal health and production issues, including over 2000 images, an animal drugs database, a glossary, a food safety module, and parasite identification keys.
New
[On Campus Access] Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
title
Loading...