Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections Department: Special Collections

Albert Camus' Last Holograph Interview

The Albert C. Camus Interview contains the interview of the LIU English professor Robert Spector with Albert Camus, in the novelist and philosopher’s own handwriting. 

The New York African Society for Mutual Relief Collection

In the early part of the 19th century, even as freemen, African-Americans of New York City were considered less than men and shut out of the rights and privileges of white society. They turned within for strength to their sense of African interconnectedness and forged their own way of assisting themselves. The New York African Society for Mutual Relief was founded in 1808. Its papers and ledgers tell the remarkable story of this determined group. Members were boot makers, carpenters, mechanics, real estate agents, merchants, porters, and ministers. Members paid an initiation fee and monthly dues. Because insurance was not available to the African-American man, the Society assisted members by paying “sick aid” and dignified burials, as well as helping widows and orphans. Its investment in several New York City buildings helped support its benevolent works, including a station of the Underground Railway. These original documents in the collection span the years 1867 to 1949. It contains 15 boxes of meeting minutes, annual reports, constitutions, correspondence, mortgages and deeds plus ledgers with roll-call and dues-paid lists. 

The Robert Weinberg Collection

The collection contains over 200 boxes of Rorbert C. Weinberg's papers in the field of urban planning, including architecture and landscape design.

Special Collections

The Albert Camus' Last Holograph Interview, The New York African Society for Mutual Relief Collection, and Seawanhaka Student Paper Collection special collections can be viewed and studied by appointment with the curator of these collections:

Constance Woo, 718 488 1321, constance.woo@liu.edu

The Artists' Books Collection

For information about the Artists Books Collection, please contact the curator of this collection:

Constance Woo, 718 488 1321, constance.woo@liu.edu

The Zine Collection

For information about the Zines Collection, please contact the curators of this collection, Susan Thomas, Katelyn Angell and Rachel King.